Resource: Community Voiceworks – Alison Burns and Gitika Partington


Associated NVN member: Gitika Partington

Publisher: Oxford University Press

Price: £37.95

How to buy: Can be ordered at local music shops; online

Tagged with: audio, folk, original, pop, world, acapella, warm ups, piano accompanients, Ali Burns, Gitika Partington

Further information:

43 flexible songs, from simple unison to four parts, by established writers and arrangers.
Ideal for community choirs of all types and school groups of 11+ years.

Vast range of repertoire, including well-known pop songs, traditional songs from around the world, contemporary songs, protest songs, and rounds.
Diverse themes, including Peace and Reflection, Liberty and Freedom, and Celebrations.

Warm-ups and practical tips on working with amateur singers and the natural voice.
Supporting rehearsal plans for each song, from the basis of learning by ear.

Copyable pages.
CD containing MP3s of learning tracks (providing individual vocal parts) and backing tracks for some pieces.
Recordings of full performances available to download.

Community Voiceworks is an unrivalled collection of fun, reflective, empowering, and moving songs in the practical Voiceworks format. With five sections covering a variety of life’s key themes, there is something for everyone – from classic hits such as ‘Sitting on the Dock of the Bay’, ‘If I had a Hammer’, ‘Walking on Sunshine’, and ‘Something Inside So Strong’ to well-known traditional songs and new works by acclaimed choir leaders. The CD provides recordings of individual parts, allowing non-readers to learn aurally, and song sheets are photocopiable. A truly inclusive collection for all groups who love singing together, regardless of experience!


Section I: Short and Sweet

– Words Betty Tindal, music Alison Burns: I open my arms wide

– Ros Thomas: I am not thinking about you

– Polly Bolton: Spring Song

– Carol Prior: A cat meditating

– Alison Burns: A Twist in the Air

– Trad., arr. Gitika Partington: Deep Down in my Soul

– Juliet Prager: All will be well

– Bryan Kessler, adap. Mark and Sharie Anderson, harm.

– Nickomo: E malama

– Jules Gibb: Caballos galopando

Section II: Peace and Reflection

– words John Newton, music Sam Cooke: Amazing Grace

– words John Newton, music Gitika Partington: How Sweet the Sound

– Trad.: Down in the River to Pray

– Alison Burns: There is silence in my heart tonight

– Alison Burns: Keep me

– Melanie Dolinski, arr. Andrew Emmet: Peace white dove

– Otis Redding and Steve Cropper, arr. Gitika Partington: Sitting on the Dock of the Bay

Section III: Liberty and Freedom

– Roxane Smith: Ain’t gonna study war

– Trad. / Gitika Partington: Ride this Train

– Curtis Mayfield, arr. Val Regan: People get ready

– Alison Burns: Give me wings

– Nickomo: I can hear a train a-comin’

– Pete Seeger and Lee Hays, arr. Gitika Partington and Peter Hunt: If I had a hammer

– Em Whitfield Brooks: Sold down the river

– Zulu song: Shona malanga

– words Antonia Machado/Trad., music Val Regan: Ya Basta!

– words Dick Dallas, music Billy Taylor, arr. Pete Churchill: I wish I knew how it would feel to be free

Section IV: Change, Loss, and Moving On

– Nickomo: Keep your heart good

– South African: Think of me

– words Judy Grahn, music Alison Burns: The Mountain

– Alison Burns: A Pebble on my Tongue

– Peggy Seeger, arr. Peter Amidon: Love Call me Home

– Hedy West, arr. Gitika Partington: Five Hundred Miles

– Cyndi Lauper and Rob Hyman, arr. Gitika Partington: Time after Time

– words Robert Burns, Trad. Scottish melody, arr. Alison Burns and Gitika Partington: Auld Lang Syne

Section V: Celebrations

– Nickomo: The Yeah Song

– Sammy Hurden: Now the sun is rising up

– Gitika Partington: I stand tall

– Bruce Knight: Zidele amathambo

– Kirsty Martin: Different Ships

– Alison Burns: May your cup always be full

– Pauline Down: Old Woman

– Kimberley Rew, arr. Gitika Partington: Walking on Sunshine

– Labi Siffre, arr. Pete Churchill: Something Inside So Strong